Michigan Defensive Driving

In Michigan, drivers are able to take defensive driving for a number of benefits. Often, drivers complete defensive driving to dismiss a traffic ticket, remove points from their driver's license, or become a safer driver and receive an insurance rate discount.

Defensive Driving Courses in Michigan

Drivers charged with a traffic violation in Michigan may be eligible to participate in the Basic Driver Improvement Course program and complete a defensive driving course. Most drivers will be eligible to participate in the program, provided they meet certain criteria.

If you enroll in and complete a basic driver improvement course with a sponsor in Michigan, you can avoid having points added to your record, and ticket information will not be sent to insurance companies, saving you from the headache of a traffic violation conviction.

Michigan Defensive Driving Course Eligibility

Most Michigan drivers with a traffic violation will be eligible to dismiss their ticket by participating in a basic driver improvement course. There are, however, a number of exceptions that may apply and make a driver ineligible to participate. Some examples of ineligible drivers include:

  • drivers with a commercial driver's license
  • violations in a commercial vehicle
  • drivers with three or more points on their driver's license record
  • criminal offense violations
  • violations for careless or negligent driving
  • violations for four or more points
  • drivers who have previously enrolled in the program
  • drivers with a restricted, suspended, or revoked license, or drivers who do not possess a license

Prior to enrolling in your defensive driving course, it is essential that you verify your eligibility to participate in the program with the court. Most drivers who are able to participate will receive a letter in the mail stating eligibility. But it is important to verify your eligibility to ensure that you will receive credit for completing the course and avoid receiving a conviction on your driving record.

Michigan Traffic Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving

Michigan drivers interested in traffic ticket dismissal with defensive driving will need to request permission to take the course from the court. You will pay court costs, fines, and fees related to your ticket. If approved by the court, you will be given 60 days in which to complete the course and pass the exam.

Upon completion of the course, you will be required to take and pass an exam. If you do not pass the exam, you will not receive credit for completing the course. You may enroll in another basic driver improvement course and attempt the exam again as many times as you need, provided you do so within the period of 60 days. The course sponsor will electronically notify the Michigan Department of State that you have passed the course. In some cases, it is not necessary for you to provide a certificate or paperwork to the state or to the court.

If you are unable to complete the course and pass the exam within 60 days, points will be added to your driving record, and you may experience insurance rate adjustments due to your traffic violation. That's why it's important to enroll and complete your course as soon as possible so that if you are not able to pass, you will have time to enroll and attempt to pass the exam again. However, if you miss the deadline and do not receive credit for the course, you may be eligible to complete the course again if you receive another ticket in the future.

Defensive Driving Courses Available in Michigan

Michigan drivers who take the defensive driving course will enroll in a four hour program designed to improve driver safety and knowledge, as well as prevent collisions, accidents, deaths, and injuries. Curriculum included in Michigan defensive driving courses includes:

  • reduction of collisions
  • avoiding moving violations
  • the dangers of alcohol and drugs and their effect on drivers
  • defensive driving techniques
  • safe driving habits
  • passenger safety features
  • Michigan traffic laws and regulations

Defensive Driving for Car Insurance Discounts in Michigan

Most drivers in Michigan complete defensive driving courses to avoid having points added to their driver's license for traffic convictions. But defensive driving courses are useful of personal knowledge of safe driving techniques, and can even earn you a discount on your auto insurance premiums.

Michigan Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts

Michigan insurance companies typically offer discounts on insurance premiums to safe drivers who have completed a defensive driving course. The discount is often up to 10% and will usually last three years. The course is four hours long, and can be completed in the classroom or online.

Michigan Defensive Driving Insurance Discount Eligibility

Most drivers in Michigan will be eligible to receive a discount on auto insurance premiums for completing a defensive driving course. However, the discounts are offered only at the discretion of individual insurance companies. Some only offer discounts to elderly or teen drivers, while others allow all ages of drivers to be eligible. Additionally, the level of discount available may vary. Be sure to check with your insurance company prior to enrolling in a defensive driving course so that you can ensure you're eligible for a discount, and find out how much of a discount you're eligible for.

Insurance Defensive Driving Courses Available in Michigan

Insurance defensive driving courses offered in Michigan are the same courses offered to traffic violators. That means you'll complete the same four hour course with instruction in defensive driving and safe driving techniques. Your defensive driving curriculum will likely include:

  • driver attitudes
  • safe driving habits
  • defensive driving skills
  • Michigan traffic laws and regulations

Enroll in a Michigan Defensive Driving Course

Get started with your defensive driving course today. Find your traffic school in our directory and enroll right now!

Share this Post


Other Helpful Articles