Drivers in Missouri can learn and benefit from defensive driving courses offered within the state. The course will teach you about safe driving and can even be used to avoid having a traffic violation added to your driving record or for insurance discounts.
Defensive Driving Courses in Missouri
If you’ve received a traffic violation in Missouri, you can attend and complete a driver improvement program course to dismiss your ticket and avoid having the violation added to your driving record.
Drivers who have their ticket dismissed by completing defensive driving will avoid having the violation added to their driving record, earning points for the violation, and may even avoid having higher insurance rates as a result of the violation.
Missouri Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
Most Missouri drivers with a traffic violation will be able to have their ticket dismissed by attending and completing a driver improvement program. However, there are specific eligibility requirements, and not all drivers will take advantage of this program. Check with the Missouri DMV; eligibility requirements include:
- drivers must not hold a commercial driver’s license from Missouri or any other state, regardless of the vehicle driven at the time of the violation
- drivers must not have previously completed a driver improvement program to avoid points assessment within the past 36 months
- state drivers can complete the course, but Missouri can’t guarantee that other states will not assess points or enter a moving violation on your record
Some courts will have additional eligibility requirements, and they may vary depending on the court. It’s best to check with your court to verify eligibility and receive approval to attend a driver improvement program before enrollment. If you attend or enroll in a driver improvement program without receiving approval, you may not get credit for completing the course.
Missouri Traffic Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving
Drivers in Missouri can have their traffic violations dismissed by attending a driver improvement course. Many counties within the state will allow drivers to have their attendance approved at a Fine Collection Center. Other counties that do not offer this option will require court permission. Typically, you will plead guilty to the court and request approval to attend a driver improvement program to avoid a points assessment. You will be required to have a date of conviction before enrolling in and completing the driver improvement course.
Once approved, you will have 60 days to complete your driver improvement course. Your driver improvement program must send proof of completion to the Missouri Department of Revenue Driver License Bureau. If you do not complete the course, you will be assessed points on your driving record and may experience higher insurance rates as a result.
Defensive Driving Courses Available in Missouri
Missouri’s defensive driving program is eight hours long. It is available both in the classroom and online. Schools typically offer multiple sessions or the option to take the course in a single day. Most online defensive driving courses can be completed at your convenience in multiple sessions or a single day.
Your defensive driving program will teach you life-saving driving skills and provides an extensive curriculum in defensive driving techniques. Your course will typically include curriculum in:
- being a safe, confident driver
- avoiding collisions and traffic accidents
- managing driving and traffic conditions
- safe driving techniques
- defensive driving
- the danger of alcohol and driving
- avoiding distractions while driving
- proper use of safety restraints
- current Missouri traffic laws and regulations
Defensive Driving for Car Insurance Discounts in Missouri
Missouri drivers can enroll in defensive driving not just for points reduction or avoiding a traffic violation conviction, but for safety improvement. Often, insurance companies like to reward safe drivers who have voluntarily completed a driver improvement program with a discount on their auto insurance premiums.
Missouri Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Most insurance companies in Missouri will offer insurance discounts for drivers who have completed defensive driving courses voluntarily. Most will offer a discount of about 10%, but the amount can range between 5% and 20% depending on your insurance company.
Missouri Defensive Driving Insurance Discount Eligibility
Often, defensive driving discounts are only available to mature drivers or teenage drivers. Still, all Missouri drivers may be eligible for a discount, so it’s smart to check with your insurance company if you’re interested. Contact your insurance company and other competing insurance companies to learn about defensive driving discount programs they may offer.
Insurance Defensive Driving Courses Available in Missouri
Missouri drivers who complete the driver improvement program will enroll in the same course as drivers attending to avoid a traffic conviction or reduce driving record points. This program is designed to teach drivers how to drive more safely and defensively, ultimately saving lives and improving traffic. In this course, you’ll learn about:
- how to drive defensively
- avoiding alcohol and drugs while driving
- how and why you should safely maintain your vehicle
- how you can avoid aggressive driving and road rage
- why it’s important to limit driving distractions
- how to reduce the risk of collisions
- the importance of speed and following distance
- Missouri’s current driving laws and regulations
Enroll in a Missouri Defensive Driving Course
Dismiss your traffic violation, earn an insurance discount, or improve your knowledge as a driver with one of Missouri’s qualified driver improvement programs.
Kansas City Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving course in Kansas City MO? Top Picks: Schuetz Driving School, Behind the Wheel & Twin City Driver Education!
St. Louis Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving course in St Louis Missouri? Top Picks: Savedriver Services Driving, Lindbergh Drivers Ed & Coach Harder Driving School!
Kansas Defensive Driving
Looking for the best defensive driving school in Kansas? We take a look at the best defensive driving school courses, defensive driving schools, and online.