Oklahoma drivers can benefit from defensive driving courses. Whether you simply want to improve your driving knowledge, need to dismiss a ticket, reduce driving record points, or want to reduce your insurance rates, completing a defensive driving course is a great idea.
Defensive Driving Courses in Oklahoma
Oklahoma's mandatory point system assesses points to a person's driving record any time they receive a traffic violation conviction. When points total 10 or more within a five year period, a driver's license will be suspended. A points suspension lasts for one month to up to 12 months depending on the number of suspensions. Suspensions must be cleared by serving the suspension period and paying fees. Drivers may also be required to meet with a compliance hearing officer.
There are two ways to reduce driving record points: time and with a defensive driving course. Drivers who go 12 consecutive months without a pointable violation conviction will have two points removed. Drivers who go three consecutive years without a pointable violation conviction will have their point level reduced to zero.
Additionally, drivers can enroll in a six hour defensive driving course. Two points will be credited to the driver's record upon successful completion. Only one two point reduction will be given within a 24 month period.
Oklahoma Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
Oklahoma makes defensive driving, or driver improvement school, available to most drivers in order to promote safe driving. That means almost all drivers will be eligible to take defensive driving to avoid a traffic ticket conviction or earn a points reduction. Exceptions do apply, however, and include:
- drivers whose tickets have become past due
- drivers who have attended driver school in the past three years
To ensure that you are eligible to complete traffic school for your ticket or a points reduction, be sure to contact the court or the Oklahoma DPS. If you attend traffic school without approval, you may not get credit for properly completing the course.
Oklahoma Traffic Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving
Oklahoma encourages drivers with a traffic ticket to attend driver improvement school in order to keep insurance costs down and avoid adding points to your driving record. Drivers in Oklahoma can attend driver improvement school, provided they meet certain eligibility requirements.
To attend traffic school, you will have to pay a fine, as well as the cost of the course. You do not have to attend court, however, you will need to request permission to complete the course from the court. You will be given a deadline for completing the course, which must be met, or you may not get credit for successfully completing driver improvement school.
Defensive Driving Courses Available in Oklahoma
Oklahoma defensive driving courses are usually between four to eight hours long depending on the course provider. The course can be attended online or in person, and most providers offer options to attend or complete the course in a single day, or more than one session if needed. Online options typically allow you to log in and complete the course as many times as you need.
Oklahoma's defensive driving school focuses on accident prevention, safe driving, and Oklahoma traffic laws and regulations. Curriculum will vary by school, but most defensive driving programs cover information including:
- driver expectations and responsibilities
- safe driving habits
- how to avoid accidents
- safe passing, proper speed, and following distance
- defensive driving techniques
- using vehicle safety features
- the danger of driving drunk or impaired
- the danger of distracted driving
- safe driving during difficult traffic situations
- recognizing and avoiding aggressive driving and road rage
- Oklahoma traffic laws and regulations
Defensive Driving for Car Insurance Discounts in Oklahoma
Oklahoma drivers often take defensive driving for a points reduction or to avoid a traffic ticket conviction, but defensive driving can be used even if you haven't had any trouble with the law. In fact, many insurance companies will offer a significant discount on auto insurance rates for drivers who have voluntarily completed a defensive driving course.
Oklahoma Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Drivers in Oklahoma can complete a defensive driving course to earn a discount on auto insurance. Usually, insurance companies will offer a discount between 5% and 20%, but most discounts are about 10% for typical drivers.
Oklahoma Defensive Driving Insurance Discount Eligibility
All Oklahoma drivers may be eligible for a defensive driving insurance discount. There are no legal age limits, however, insurance company policy may restrict discounts to certain age groups. Some insurance companies only offer discounts for defensive driving to senior drivers or new teenage drivers. Before enrolling in a defensive driving course, check with your insurance company to find out what kind of discounts are available for you.
Insurance Defensive Driving Courses Available in Oklahoma
Oklahoma's defensive driving course for insurance rate reductions is often the same course offered for points reduction or traffic tickets. Oklahoma drivers who enroll in this course will learn important safety and driving information that can improve their driving skills, reduce the risk of collision, and help avoid traffic tickets. Individual curriculum will vary, but typically, Oklahoma defensive driving courses include instruction in:
- avoiding dangerous driving situations
- common driving risks including alcohol, speeding, aggressive driving, and distracted driving
- how to use passenger restraints and other vehicle safety features properly
- Oklahoma traffic laws and regulations
Enroll in an Oklahoma Defensive Driving Course
Oklahoma drivers, get started with your defensive driving course today. Find a qualified, state approved traffic school in our defensive driving directory.
Share this Post