Tennessee traffic school offers a way to remove points from your driving record. So you can keep a traffic ticket off your record with the right course. It’s also possible to gain a discount on your insurance.
Whether you’re taking the course to avoid license suspension or to keep your record clean, it can be done online. Tennessee traffic school offers the right option for your specific needs. It comes with plenty of benefits, especially the online version.
Online Tennessee Traffic School Benefits
When you choose an online provider for defensive driving in Tennessee, you can work at your own pace. In addition, you get to complete this course on your schedule with 24/7 access.
The right online provider will allow you to work from your computer, smartphone, or tablet. This type, of course, can be completed anywhere you can get an internet connection. Work from home, on the go, or anywhere you want.
Topics Covered by Tennessee Traffic School Courses
The courses offered by online traffic schools in Tennessee will teach you to be a safer driver. As a result, you can gain the skills you need to drive safely. The course will cover the following topics:
- Driving and common sense
- Vehicle maneuvers
- Hazardous road conditions
- Defensive driving techniques
- Better awareness on the road
- Traffic laws
- Vehicle maneuvers
- Impaired driving due to drugs and alcohol
- Pavement markings, traffic signs, and signals
If you get approval from a judge, you can take the four-hour course. This will allow you to have your traffic violation dismissed, and the points will be waived. You might even be able to gain an insurance discount from attending Tennessee traffic school.
Eligibility Requirement for Tennessee Traffic School
You must be at least 16 years of age to take the defensive driving course in Tennessee. If you’re under 18 years of age and end up with 6 or more points on your record in a 12-month period, you will need to take this course. Those over 18 will be required to take the course if they get 12 or more points in a 12-month period.
In both cases, you will be sent a notice of proposed suspension. In addition, those under 18 years of age will need to attend the hearing with a parent or guardian. If you don’t attend the hearing, you will have your license suspended.
When you attend the hearing, you will likely be required to attend Tennessee traffic school. The course will notify you in writing that you will be required to complete defensive driving. This course can be done online, regardless of your age.
If you plan to take a traffic safety course to lower your insurance rates, you can do so voluntarily. Make sure you check with your agent before you register, however. This will help you to figure out how much of a discount you will get. Your agent can also give you instructions on handling the course and submitting your certificate of completion.
Becoming a Safer Driver
While you might be taking the defensive driving course in Tennessee to gain an insurance discount or remove points, you’ll become a safer driver. The course will teach you many ways to drive safer. Becoming a safer driver will ensure you can avoid tickets in the future and accidents.
By avoiding tickets and traffic accidents, you can save plenty of money. You might not realize it, but as a safer driver, you’ll save money in the future. The course will give you many techniques to help you drive better, avoid accidents, and keep the roads safer.
Frequently Asked Questions About Tennessee Traffic School
How long does Tennessee traffic school need to be?
The state requires the defensive driving course to be at least four hours long. If you take the course online, it may take you more than four hours to complete. You can choose the pace you want to work at and complete it in one sitting or multiple sessions.
When do I need to attend traffic school in Tennessee?
The Department of Safety will inform you if you have too many points on your license. This typically happens if you end up with 7 or more points. In this case, you’ll be required to take defensive driving, driver improvement, or another traffic school course.
Will I need to pass a final exam?
Yes, you need to pass a final exam consisting of 20 questions. You need to score at least an 80% to pass. If you fail, you can take the test again, as many times as you need to.
Do I need to worry about getting too many points on my driver’s license?
Yes, you might need to be worried if you have points on your license already. When you receive 12 points, the DOS will send a proposed suspension letter. You will have to attend an administrative hearing. If you don’t attend the hearing, your license will be suspended.
If you’re eligible to have a ticket dismissed, you can remove some points from your driving record. This will require you to complete a court-approved defensive driving course. You can complete this course online or in a classroom.
How much will my car insurance premiums go up due to a traffic ticket?
You might see your insurance rates go up at much as 20%. It depends on the provider for your insurance and the violation. You can use Tennessee traffic school to keep this from happening. It’s also possible to compare insurance rates to see if another provider will offer a lower rate.
Attending Tennessee traffic school means you can avoid points. An insurance discount is also possible. Whether the courts have ordered you or you plan to take the course voluntarily, you can do it online.
With the right online defensive driving course, you can gain many benefits. Work at your own pace and on your own schedule. Choosing a state-approved provider will ensure you get the benefits you need without the hassle of driving to a classroom.
Chattanooga Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Chattanooga, TN? Top Picks: ABC Traffic School, Haman's + 5 State Court Approved Online Courses!
Knoxville Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Knoxville, TN? Top Picks: Drive-Rite Driving School, Drive 4 Life Academy & A + Defensive Driving!
Memphis Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Memphis, TN? Top Picks: Maxwell Driving, Private First Class Driving + 5 TN Court Approved Online Courses!
Nashville Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving course in Nashville TN? Top Picks: Brentwood Driver Training, Teen Driver Academy & Spankys Driving Academy!
Murfreesboro Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Murfreesboro, TN? Top Picks: