If you’re here, you’re probably ready to get your drivers license. Hold on there tiger! There’s a few steps we need to complete before we can get you off on the road to independence with that sweet wind in your hair! First thing is first, we need to get your enrolled in an approved California Drivers Ed course. Here’s what you can expect from the California drivers education process!
California Drivers Education Eligibility Requirements
In the state of California the eligibility requirements for new drivers are clear. If you are between the age of 15 ½ and 18 years old you must get a provisional permit before you can get your driver’s license. To do this you must complete a state-approved drivers ed course and pass a 46 question multiple choice exam along with an eyesight test.
Many drivers education schools have a minimum age requirement. Make sure to check with your driving school to find out what their minimum age requirement for driver’s education is.
For new drivers over the age of 17 ½ but just under 18 years of age it should be noted that you may get your learner’s permit without a certificate of completion from a driving school or taking drivers ed. It should be noted that you will not be allowed to take the driving test at the DMV until you have turned 18 years of age.
What is California Drivers Ed?
A California Drivers Ed course is a vital method of instruction that is crucial to the safety of hundreds of thousands of Californians who get their license each and every year. California Drivers Education covers all of the vital road awareness and safety skills that are needed for first time teen drivers to drive responsibly and in a way that doesn’t present risk to others. Drivers Education instructors must be certified with the state of California. Even online schools are constantly audited for their educational value. Because of the quality level of most instruction, drivers ed can even be a great refresher course for anyone looking to brush up on their driving skills and knowledge. After all, driving is one of the most dangerous things we all do each day.
California, like almost every other state in the union, requires completion of a California Drivers Education course with a certified instructor in order to obtain a driver’s license. If you already have your license, you may also be able to utilize a drivers education course as a way to unlock a car insurance discount.
You can expect a CA Drivers Ed Course to cover the following:
- Course content should cover the basic fundamentals of safe driving. This should include knowledge of the driving skills necessary to safely operate a motor vehicle on California roadways,
- Course should be pertinent to all current California laws. This includes right of way laws, stopping laws, alcohol consumption, distracted driving, and more.
- Road signs should be specifically covered and you should be able to ascertain their meaning as it pertains to how you operate your motor vehicle. Road signs amount to an estimated 25% of permit test questions.
- Contain hazard prevention and perception techniques. Examples of these are emergency situations, construction zones, railroad crossings, bridges, and more.
The state of California DMV provides prospective drivers with a curriculum they can expect and it’s all online. This can help with anything you may need assistance with. Sites like DMV-Written-Test.com also provide a valuable resource where you can take practice permit test questions online and all for free. They even have copies of the exact test that gets administered to help you best prepare.
Time Requirements for Driver’s Education in California
The time requirements for Driver’s Education in the state of California are clear. As part of your certification requirements you must complete 25 hours of classroom instruction (can be done with a certified online California driving school like DriversEd.coach) as well as 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction with a driving professional.
It is important to note that as part of your learners permit requirements you will need to obtain 50 hours of supervised driving with a parent or guardian with a drivers licence. The 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction with a driving professional do not count toward this 50 hour requirement.