Washington Defensive Driving

Brandon Myers - Author by Brandon Myers | Last Updated: January 13, 2021

Drivers in Washington have the opportunity to take traffic school to learn more about driving habits, attitudes, behaviors, and safe driving. Often, Washington drivers complete traffic school to dismiss a moving violation conviction; however, mature drivers can also take defensive driving for an insurance discount.

Defensive Driving Courses in Washington

Washington drivers who have been cited for a moving violation can attend traffic school to have the charge dismissed. In some cases, traffic school may be ordered by the court as well.

Drivers who select a traffic school deferred finding or diversion and complete the course will not have the charge added to their driving record. This can help save on insurance, as insurance companies typically raise rates on drivers who have a moving violation on their record.

Washington Defensive Driving Course Eligibility

Most Washington drivers facing a traffic charge will be eligible to participate in the traffic school deferred finding program. Check with the Washington DMV for more information. However, specific eligibility requirements must be met to qualify. Requirements will vary depending on the court but usually include:

The court may set additional eligibility requirements. Before you enroll in traffic school for a deferred finding, be sure to contact your court for permission to participate in the program, as well as the opportunity to verify your eligibility. Drivers who enroll without verification or permission from the court may not get credit for completing the course.

Washington Traffic Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving

In Washington, drivers can dismiss traffic tickets with defensive driving. To enroll in this program, you will need to contact the court handling your moving violation case. Typically, you will enroll in the program, fill out paperwork to sign up, and then be granted 60 days to pay the court fee and turn in a completion certificate.

To participate in the traffic school deferred finding program, you will be required to enter a plea of no contest. Not guilty pleas will forfeit your traffic school option. Once you sign up for a traffic school option, you will not be able to change to a different program.

Drivers who do not pay the fee, complete the traffic school course, or turn in the certificate of completion will not be able to dismiss the charge and will have the moving violation added to their driving record. Fees paid to participate in the program will not typically be refunded, and most courts do not offer extensions of the 60 day period for any reason. It is best to sign up for the program and complete your traffic school requirement immediately and without delay to ensure that you’ll meet the deadline and be able to dismiss your ticket successfully, as classes may fill up quickly.

Some courts will also require that drivers do not commit any other traffic violations for up to a year and may be offered instead of the traffic school option.

Defensive Driving Courses Available in Washington

Washington’s traffic school courses are three and a half hours long. In this course, you will learn about problems created when drivers make poor driving decisions, as well as traffic laws and specific driving situations. The individual curriculum will depend on the traffic school, but typically includes:

Defensive Driving for Car Insurance Discounts in Washington

Traffic school is available to drivers who have not been involved in an accident or moving violation. Senior drivers can enroll in a collision prevention course to earn a renewable car insurance discount. This course will teach life-saving information for seniors and provide a lesson in safe driving.

Washington Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts

Insurance discounts are offered to Washington drivers aged 55 and older that have completed a qualifying collision prevention course. The discount amount will depend on the individual insurance company, but most offer a discount between 5% and 20%. Typically, drivers will receive a 10% discount for completion of the course.

Washington Defensive Driving Insurance Discount Eligibility

Washington encourages all mature drivers to participate in the collision prevention course insurance discount. The requirements are not restrictive, allowing all licensed drivers aged 55 or older to take the course and receive an insurance discount.

Insurance Defensive Driving Courses Available in Washington

The collision prevention course offered in Washington is designed exclusively for mature drivers 55 years of age and older. It is eight hours in length and is designed to teach mature drivers about safe driving as they become older. The curriculum offered in this course includes:

Enroll in a Washington Defensive Driving Course

Find the Washington traffic school that’s right for your needs. Please select a state-approved traffic school from our directory today!

 

Brandon Myers
Brandon Myers is a Drivers Education and Safe Driving enthusiast. After a rollover vehicle crash and DUI, Myers has dedicated his life and career to the Drivers Education industry. Believing safe driving techniques save lives, Myers has spent over 5 years improving the industry with IDriveSafely, Aceable, and DriversEd.com.